My Life As I Wished I Lived It (or Carpe Diem)

2023-2024

Assignment Three
October 18 — October 25
My Life As I Wished I Lived It (or Carpe Diem)

At the end of life, how will your life be judged?

“Don’t ask why. It’s not a question, but a lesson learned in time.”

As Green Day once said:

Another turning point;
a fork stuck in the road.

Time grabs you by the wrist;
directs you where to go.

So make the best of this test
and don’t ask why.

It’s not a question
but a lesson learned in time.

It’s something unpredictable
but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.
So take the photographs
and still frames in your mind.

Hang it on a shelf
In good health and good time.

Tattoos of memories
and dead skin on trial.

For what it’s worth,
it was worth all the while.

It’s something unpredictable
but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

It’s something unpredictable
but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

It’s something unpredictable
but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.
(lyrics “Time of Your Life”)


How do we figure out whether or not a life has value? When do we make this decision? What is the meaning and purpose of life?

Consider the things that you feel make life worthwhile and valuable.

A) List five things you want to have possessed or have experienced by the time you reach the end of your life (whenever that may be).
B) How will you be remembered? Add to this list one quality you would like to be remembered for.
C) Discuss why each of these things (or ideals, ideas or qualities) are important to you personally.
D) Discuss how each of these things (or ideals, ideas or qualities) are valuable to humanity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *